It is my pleasure to write to you as the Chair of the Department of Theatre, Film and Digital Production and welcome you to a new year of learning ahead.

We launch the year with a production of the musical The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, directed by Chari Arespacochaga. Look towards this warm-hearted production, with highlights of mystery spelling guests by campus luminaries. Next, we will produce the classic play Tartuffe, directed by the award-winning actor Miles Anderson. In the spring term we are pleased to produce Diana Son’s Stop Kiss to be directed by our own faculty member and Artistic Director Bella Merlin.

The remainder of this year’s season celebrates the creativity of our own students in a plethora of original work.
Winter quarter features the New Play Festival as well as a showcasing of our original film THE SAME OLD LINE by graduate student Kirin McCrory directed by another graduate student, Stephanie Ghiya, and in the spring quarter we produce Playworks, a festival of original work by our undergraduates and graduate students.

On October 19 Scott Roukema, an alumnus of our undergraduate program, will be presenting information about internships with the company Riot Games, where he works. On October 27 we will be hosting a screen of CWPA (Creative Writing and Writing for the Performing Arts) alumnus and Goldwyn Award-winning writer Jared Robbins’ new film WHAT IF HE WINS? and late in fall quarter we will have our student-run 3rd Annual Smart Phone Film Festival.

This year, for the first time, we are excited to produce two original films, one in the summer and one in the fall, both of which will be showcased in our winter film festival. We are happy to produce many projects through the Latina/o Play Project, directed by our student Melanie Queponds, the Model Minority Student group, and the Golden Mean players. If you are interested in any of these exciting student-led performance projects, please find them on our website.

I hope you will take advantage of the many opportunities offered to learn about and make theatre, film and digital content through our program.

With best wishes to all for a successful year ahead

Erith Jaffe-Berg, Chair

Share this Post